Wednesday, October 12th, 2016

Better Your Chances of Passing Georgia CNA Examination: Make Yourself An Expert of the Food Pyramid

July 26, 2011 by  
Filed under cna state exam

Aspiring Nursing Assistants in Georgia have an advantage considering how seriously the State takes their education. There are many reputable schools in the State that have good Nursing Assistant programs like the Mentee Medical Institute in Lawrenceville. And to help you better your chances of passing that next Georgia CNA Exam, this article will cover review points in one subject: the Food Pyramid.

The Old Food Pyramid

Accepted facts in medicine and healthcare are often changing. This comes with new findings, new studies, and discoveries. And for the past decade, the food pyramid has also been a subject of many changes and updates. Even so, it might help you to know the old food pyramid.

Since everything else at the top of the pyramid stayed the same, it is best to only mention the bottom of the pyramid which is where the change took place. In the past, the bottom of the stack is grains and breads only.

USDA 2005 Food Pyramid

In 2005, the USDA released a new and updated food pyramid that better reflects the nutrition needs of modern people. Stress is given to balanced diet. From four food groups, the 2005 USDA version had six namely: grains, vegetables, fruits, dairy, meat and beans, and oils and fats.

What is significant about this food pyramid is how it suggests differences in intake according to daily physical activity. It suggests that adults should have at least 30 minutes of physical activity a day and 60 minutes for children. And if order to prevent weight gain, the pyramid suggests about 60 to 90 minutes is required per day.



Harvard’s 2008 Food Pyramid

Only three years after the release of USDA’s new food pyramid, the University Of Harvard Department Of Nutrition released a new update. It is called the Healthy Eating Pyramid and information about it can be found in The most significant change in this new food pyramid is that the bottom is now composed of vegetables, fruits, breads, and grains (note: the bottom part is actually physical exercise and vegetables, fruits, breads, and grains are above it).

Next from the bottom are foods from the nuts and beans group and also healthy sources of protein like fish, poultry, and eggs. Next are the dairy products with daily intake suggestion of only 1 to 2 servings. At the top are butter, red meat, sweets, sugary drinks, and salt. And although breads and grains are at the bottom of the pyramid, refined grains and breads like are also placed at the top of the pyramid. These are to be taken sparingly.

A Sixth Group In The Food Pyramid?

It is generally accepted that there are 5 major food groups in the food pyramid. However, a sixth one appears on both the USDA and Harvard’s versions. The sixth one is for healthy fats and oils.

Take note however that there are two types falling under this category: the healthy ones and the unhealthy ones. Healthy oils include canola, sunflower, corn, and soy. These are included with vegetables and fruits. The unhealthy ones include trans fats, saturated fats, lard, and margarine. These are at the top of the pyramid.

Online dating , Seo , Health care , Finance , Get boyfriend back , Cheap hotels , Travel